Cricinfo is currently working on an all time test cricket XI. I indulged in this exercise too…

For the openers, I choose Jack Hobbs and Gavaskar. I was very tempted about Sehwag – his ability to win games is unparalleled in the time I have watched cricket, but decided to stick with the “classical” choices.

For the middle order, Bradman takes a slot. Sachin takes the next slot. For the #5 slot, there is a lot of competition. Greg Chappell, Jacques Kallis, Greame Pollock, Rahul Dravid, Sangakkara, Jayawardene, Miandad, Inzamam, Wally Hammond, Ken Barrington, Peter May, the three Ws, Headley, Viv Richards, Brian Lara, Clive Lloyd all jostle for this one slot. I pick Lara for his left handedness and his ability to win games.

For the allrounder slot, it is of course Gary Sobers.

My wicketkeeper is Adam Gilchrist. Beats of stiff competition from Sanga, Andy Flower, Alan Knott and Rod Marsh.

My pace attack is Imran, Hadlee and Marshall. McGrath is unlucky to lose out.

My spinner is Murali. Warne is unlucky to lose out.

Team in batting order: Hobbs, Gavaskar, Bradman, Tendulkar, Lara, Sobers, Imran, Gilchrist, Hadlee, Marshall and Murali. Imran shall captain the team.

12th Man (Reserve pacer): McGrath

Reserve Batsman: Viv Richards

Reserve Spinner: Shane Warne

Reserve Keeper: Sanga

Reserve Opener: Sehwag

17th member: Wasim Akram

தொகுக்கப்பட்ட பக்கம்: கிரிக்கெட்

தொடர்புடைய சுட்டி: All time Indian Cricket XI for Tests