I don’t think Avila Beach is as well known as say, Morro Bay, San Simeon, Pismo Beach and other popular California Central Coast beaches. We stopped by here for a couple of hours, on our way to Disneyland.

Pretty good beach. Very small and you can probably walk across the whole beach in an hour or so. Very kid friendly – swings and slides in the beach, a kiddie park just before the beach that has a boat-like structure, dolphin statues etc. Lot of flat, small stones – you can teach your kids how to play skipstones. Birds flock here, and my kids had a lot of fun running at them and making them fly away. It was very windy when we visited – if you brave it for a few minutes, you would enjoy it. But it takes some getting used to. The water was cold on a September afternoon, but after a few minutes it was enjoyable.

Looks like an expensive place, though, by the looks of it. One hotel seems very grand. The other one is right on the beach – cross the street and you hit the beach. These tend to be expensive as a rule – I would guess that it would be 200 bucks per night. There don’t seem to be many restaurants; if you are a vegetarian, you may have trouble. I didn’t see any fast food places. However, San Luis Obispo and Pismo Beach are within 10 miles either side, and I am sure they would provide many more options.

I would like to go back and stay here some day. My 5 and 10 year olds loved it. But the windy evening may have turned my wife off…

